Kirstenbosch declared a World Heritage Site

The Cape Floristic Region was inscribed as South Africa's sixth World Heritage Site by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) on Wednesday 30 June 2004.

The Cape Floristic Region World Heritage Site comprises a serial site of eight protected areas, stretching from the Cape Peninsula to Baviaanskloof in the Eastern Cape. The eight areas are:

  • Table Mountain (including Kirstenbosch)
  • De Hoop nature reserve
  • Boland Mountain complex
  • Groot Winterhoek wilderness area
  • Swartberg Mountains
  • Boosmansbos wilderness area
  • Cederberg wilderness area
  • Baviaanskloof

Kirstenbosch, as part of the Table Mountain National Park, is incorporated in this World Heritage Site. It is the first time that a botanical garden has been recognised as a natural World Heritage Site. Padua Botanical Garden in Italy and RBG Kew are inscribed as cultural World Heritage Sites.


© National Botanical Institute SA NBI Home