National Botanical Gardens

Eight National Botanical Gardens are situated throughout the country in five of South Africa's six different biomes.

When Kirstenbosch, the most famous of the Gardens, was founded in 1913 to preserve the country's unique flora, it was the first botanical garden in the world with this ethos.

What makes the Gardens so famous worldwide is that only indigenous plants are cultivated.

An Interpretation Programme spans all eight Gardens.

The eight National Botanical Gardens are:

Free State NBG
Harold Porter NBG
Karoo Desert NBG
Kirstenbosch NBG
Lowveld NBG
Natal NBG
Pretoria NBG
Walter Sisulu NBG

© South African National Biodiversity Institute SANBI Home Gardens' Home